Level 2 Award for Working as a Door Supervisor within the Private Security Industry2018-12-02T20:07:02+00:00

Level 2 Award forWorking as a Door Supervisor within the Private Security Industry

Course Details

Objective and Purpose of the Qualification:

Level 2 Award for Working as a Door Supervisor within the Private Security Industry is designed to show that learners have obtained and can demonstrate the knowledge and skills required to be a Door Supervisor. The primary purpose of the qualification is to confirm occupational competence and/or ‘licence to practice’. However, employers can also rely on the knowledge provided as meeting nationally recognised standards within security, and more specifically door supervision, at this level as such the sub-purpose is to Confirm the ability to meet a ‘licence to practice’ or other legal requirements made by the relevant sector, professional or industry body. Under the Private Security Industry Act 2001, all door supervisors must hold a licence to practice issued by the Security Industry Authority (SIA). Successful completion of this course enables a door supervisor to meet one of the requirements to apply for their licence.


Age Restriction:

The BIIAB Level 2 Award for Working as a Door Supervisor within the Private Security Industry is only suitable for learners 18 or above.

Other Details

Entry Requirements and Progression:

Security operatives are likely in the course of their work to be required to make calls to the

emergency services, or need to communicate to resolve conflict. It is essential that security

operatives are able to communicate clearly.

It is a centre’s responsibility to ensure that learners are sufficiently competent in the use of the

English language, and as such all assessment are conducted in English language only. Centres

must ensure that learners have sufficient language skills before putting the learners forward for

assessment. Centres are required to evidence this for each learner.

As a guide, learners should, as a minimum, have language skills equivalent to the following:

  • A B1 level qualification on the Home Office’s list of recognised English tests and
  • qualifications
  • A B1 Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR)
  • An ESOL qualification at (Entry Level 3) regulated by Ofqual and taken in England, Wales
  • or Northern Ireland
  • An ESOL qualification at SCQF Level 5 awarded by the Scottish Qualifications Authority
  • (SQA) and taken in Scotland
  • Functional Skills Level 1 in English
  • SQA Core Skills in Communication at SCQF Level 5
  • Essentials Skills Wales Communication Level 1.

To achieve Level 2 Award In CCTV Operations (Public Space Surveillance) within the Private Security Industry, learners must complete all units within the qualification. This must consist of:

  • Total number of units: 4
  • Mandatory Group A minimum number of units: 4
  • GLH: 33
  • TQT: 45



Our Accreditations